Milton High School

Selborne Avenue, Bulawayo

History - The houses and those who they were named from

In 1925 initailly there were three houses, Pioneer and Charter for boarders and Oppidans (a pupil who boards in town rather than in the school itself) for Day-scholars. Then the school was divided into four houses; Charter (boarders), Pioneer (boarders), North Town and South Town.

In 1938, due to the dominance of the "boarders" four new houses were introduced they were; Birchenough, Borrow, Fairbridge and Heany.

In 1954 there were 644 pupils, by 1957 this figure had risen to over 700, a year later there were in excess of 900. With over 200 boys per house four new games houses were created; Brady, Chancellor, Malvern and Rhodes.

1958 - New Games Houses


In 1978 the two boarding houses, Charter and Pioneer, changed their system yet again. At one time in the history of Milton, boarders had been mixed with day scholars in games houses, doubtless to the bene­fit of the day scholars. Later, the two houses had been combined as a single games house, Boarders.

In 1978 they returned to this position. Pioneer was allocated the task of introducing boarders to the Milton way of life and Charter was to be the House where they matured into the rigid backbone of the School. 1978 was a very difficult year with seniors from Pioneer moving into Charter and juniors from Charter moving across to Pioneer House. Loyalties were strained and boarders searched for an identity. This year the changes are behind us. The juniors of Pioneer and the seniors of Charter seem happier with their peers. The two houses ran smoothly and continue as a back, and often the only, supporting group at inter-house activities. Boarders are conservative and stoutly defend their own traditions and those of Milton. They are the custodians of the Milton system, an ever-present reminder to the people of Bulawayo of the true image of a Miltonian.


From the beginning of 1987 Milton's five day game houses will be renamed in honour of the school's first five headmasters (Boarders, the sixth house, will remain Boarders) and each will meet in the quadrangle that bears the appropriate name; quads are already named after the first four headmasters and the Sixth Form quad/car park area will in future be known as the Gebbie Quad.

BORROW HOUSE              - BRADY
RHODES HOUSE               - GEBBIE
HEANY HOUSE                  - DE BEER

Colonel John Banks Brady, DSO, OBE, ED (1875 - 1950)
Sir John Robert Chancellor GCMG, GCVO, GBE, DSO (1870–1952)
Godfrey Huggins 1st Viscount Malvern CH KCMG PC (6 July 1883 – 8 May 1971)
Cecil John Rhodes PC (5 July 1853 - 26 March 1902)

Colonel John Banks Brady       Sir John Robert Chancellor       Godfrey Huggins 1st Viscount Malvern       Cecil John Rhodes
brady_col_john_banks               chancellor_sir_john_robert               huggins_godfrey                rhodes_cecil_john

+- 1960's onwards?

Houses: Birchenough, Borrow, Chancellor, Charter, Fairbridge, Heany, Pioneer and Rhodes

Sir John Henry Birchenough 1st Baronet, GCMG (7 March 1853 – 12 May 1937)
Capt. Henry John Borrow
Sir John Robert Chancellor GCMG, GCVO, GBE, DSO (1870–1952)
Kingsley Ogilvie Fairbridge (5 May 1885 – 19 July 1924)
Major Maurice David Heany
Cecil John Rhodes PC (5 July 1853 - 26 March 1902)

Henry Birchenough

Sir John Henry Birchenough, 1st Baronet, GCMG (7 March 1853 – 12 May 1937) was an English businessman and public servant.


Capt. Henry John Borrow

Henry Borrow emigrated to farm in South Africa in 1882, while there he joined the 2nd Mounted Rifles (Carringtons Horse) and traveled to Bechuanaland (now Botswana) on the Warren Expedition. He joined the Bechuanaland Police a year later. Borrow also took part in the Matebele War (1893) when he took command of “B” troop of the Salisbury Column. He fought at the first battle of the Shangani and Mbembesi. He was killed with his patrol in action when they were sent to assist Allan Wilson at the Shangani River on 4th December 1893.


Sir John Robert Chancellor

Lieutenant Colonel Sir John Robert Chancellor GCMG, GCVO, GBE, DSO (1870–1952) was a British soldier and colonial official.


Kingsley Fairbridge

Kingsley Ogilvie Fairbridge (5 May 1885 – 19 July 1924) was the founder of a child emigration scheme to British colonies and the Fairbridge Schools. His life work was the founding of the "Society for the Furtherance of Child Emigration to the Colonies", which was afterwards incorporated as the "Child Emigration Society" and ultimately the "Fairbridge Society".


Major Maurice David Heany

American who played a prominent part in the early history of Rhodesia. Captain, afterwords Major Maurice David Heany, a Virginian and cousin of Edgar Allan Poe. He commanded "A" Troup of the Pioneer Column. Heany Junction is named after him.

Godfrey Huggins 1st Viscount Malvern

Godfrey Martin Huggins, 1st Viscount Malvern CH KCMG PC (6 July 1883 – 8 May 1971) was a Rhodesian politician and physician. He served as the fourth Prime Minister of Southern Rhodesia from 1933 to 1953 and remained in office as the first Prime Minister of the Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland until 1956, becoming the longest serving prime minister in British Commonwealth history.

huggins_g_m huggins_godfrey

Cecil John Rhodes

Cecil John Rhodes PC (5 July 1853 – 26 March 1902) was a British businessman, mining magnate and politician in South Africa, who served as Prime Minister of the Cape Colony from 1890 to 1896. An ardent believer in British imperialism, Rhodes and his British South Africa Company founded the southern African territory of Rhodesia (now Zimbabwe and Zambia), which the company named after him in 1895. South Africa's Rhodes University is also named after him. Rhodes set up the provisions of the Rhodes Scholarship, which is funded by his estate, and put much effort towards his vision of a Cape to Cairo Railway through British territory.